Transition Whatcom


Transition Whatcom, an all-volunteer, grassroots group, was started early in 2009 by seven local residents who called themselves the TWIG- the Transition Whatcom Initiating Group.  As planned, in August 2010 the TWIG gave way to the TWOG - a rotating group of volunteers we call the Transition Whatcom Operating Group (TWOG).

Want to join the TWOG or help the TWOG? Email us at twog at transitionwhatcom dot org

For the TWOG we look for an excellent diversity and a great mix of skills, as per the "mandate" from the following paragraph of the TWIG to TWOG document:

"Organizational Core Group: A group made up of TW members selected by their peers through an application process. The Core is to be made up of 8 people - the intent is for a balance of representation - at this time we will focus on urban and rural, male and female, elders and youngers. At a later time the Core Group and Council may decide to seek a broader spectrum of representation as the priority."

One version of the TWOG: From left to right:  Warren Miller, Paul Kearsley, Emily Farrell, Kyler Boyes, and Tom Anderson.

The Current TWOG:

David MacLeod
One of the original co-counders of TW, David has been concerned about resource scarcity, climate change, and economic instability since seeing The End of Suburbia in 2004, and has been following the Transition movement since it began in the UK in 2005. He initiated and served on the local Energy Resource Scarcity/Peak Oil Task Force for the city of Bellingham and Whatcom County.

David Ketter
Dave Ketter has recently volunteered as the primary Events Coordinator, and has done an amazing job coordinating our part of the recent Regenerate Cascadia's Bioregional Activation Tour. Dave is a recently retired high school science teacher currently serving as a climate change education consultant. He's been involved in environmental, sustainability and climate change education for over 40 years, and was present at the Transition Whatcom Great Unleashing in 2010. 

Former TWOG members include Warren Miller, Travis Linds, Juliet Thompson, Angela Mercy, Erica Schuler, Tom Anderson, Kyler Boyes, Paul Kearsley, Micah Shanser, Bruce Horowitz, Dave Koshinz, Paul Kuepfer, Emily Farrel, Joy Patterson, and Margo Terrill. We thank them for their service!

Next Page: The TWIG

© 2024   Created by David MacLeod.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service